10 to Watch: Jenice Ramirez of ISLA NC

Leadership Triangle
4 min readFeb 14, 2022

--

Jenice Ramirez is the Executive Director of ISLA NC and is part of the current 10 to Watch Leaders Class from United Way of the Greater Triangle. Jenice shares about her love for education and amplifying the voices of Latino/x families. Jenice is a 2021 Leadership Triangle Goodmon Fellow.

I have early memories of forcing my brothers to play school and having grammar textbooks for my “students.”

Owen Jordan: What’s your story, and what are you passionate about?

Jenice Ramirez: I come from a beautiful Puerto Rican & military family of 5. I grew up in what I now know to be three cultural worlds. I had my home culture, my outside world culture, and then I had my blend of both. Before the age of 13, we had moved more than ten times, even if it was in the same city. I believe that my experience of moving and coming from the family that I did reflects how I show up in spaces. From an early age, I was often the only Latina in my class or was one of few but always very proud of my language and my culture. I loved education. I have early memories of forcing my brothers to play school and having grammar textbooks for my “students.” My love for education, particularly special education, blossomed in high school and college. During those years, I became aware of the barriers that many Laitno/x students and families faced navigating the education system. I found ways to support Latino/x families in college, my first 3 years into my teaching career, and ultimately my passion. I am incredibly passionate about supporting the Latino community and changing the status quo. For me, I want to see more Latina women & women of color in leadership positions that change the trajectory of our education system.

ISLA NC staff and volunteers preparing food.

Owen Jordan: Can you tell me about your role with ISLA NC?

Jenice Ramirez: I am the Executive Director of ISLA NC, which I hold with high honor and respect. I feel fortunate to work for the community I love, respect, and admire so much. Every day I have an opportunity to learn and be a better person because of the people I work for and with. When I walk into the classrooms of ISLA NC and hear students speaking in Spanish and learning about the beauty and richness of Latin American languages and cultures, my soul is truly happy. We are providing a space for students to build confidence and leadership skills through honoring who they are and where they come from and seeing the value of their multicultural journeys. These are the future leaders of our society.

Children crafting with yarn.

Owen Jordan: What’s a big story from your work?

Jenice Ramirez: We had a student graduate last year, and he shared during an ISLA event how ISLA changed how he saw himself and that he was no longer embarrassed of who he was and where he came from. He saw his language and his experiences as a value and he continues to come back to ISLA to help other students have the same or better experience than he did in ISLA.

Children learning with ISLA staff member in classroom.

Owen Jordan: What brought you to 10 to Watch?

Jenice Ramirez: I applied for 10 to watch because of my passion for doing the work. I want to see more Latina women in leadership positions and seen as the leaders we are and so I needed to believe in myself. I applied so I can show young girls and other Latina women that we can believe in ourselves and stand up proud in who we are and show the value we have to make the changes we need to see in our world.

Young girl crafting with playdough in ISLA NC classroom.

Owen Jordan: What does leadership look like to you in the world of bilingualism and community building?

Jenice Ramirez: Leadership in the world of bilingualism and community building is moving the barriers that keep our families from being the leaders they are. As an organization, we have a responsibility to support our families and make the space at the tables that we are so often left out of. For us, we ensure that language access is not a barrier and that economic barriers are not an issue. We are consistently amplifying the community’s voices that are continuously silenced and most impacted by those who consider themselves leaders.

Owen Jordan: What were some big takeaways you took from Transforming Leaders?

Jenice Ramirez: My biggest takeaway from Transforming leaders is that I got to really focus on myself and who I am as a leader. Transforming leaders gave me the confidence to bet on myself and not think twice.

If you’d like to support Jenice and ISLA NC’s mission, send her an email at jenice@laislaschool.com or visit their website https://www.laislaschool.org/.

--

--

Leadership Triangle

Leadership Triangle builds leadership capacity and promotes regionalism across the separate communities of the Triangle (Chatham, Durham, Orange, Wake County).