2019: Morgan Weston #LT30for30

Leadership Triangle
5 min readNov 14, 2022

Since 1992, Leadership Triangle has been a convener, educator, advocate, and amplifier for some of our region’s most engaged leaders and organizations. To celebrate our 30th anniversary, we’re telling the stories of 30 Fellows from 30 years of programs. Each Fellow highlighted will represent one year of impact: from 1992 to 2001 to 2022.

Morgan Weston

Morgan is a marketing leader and storyteller in the Triangle. She has a combined background in journalism, software, and commercial real estate marketing which enable her to provide a detail oriented, people-first approach to her profession. Morgan is a graduate of the University of North Carolina Wilmington, and has served as the Senior Director of Marketing and Communications for Research Triangle Park. She currently is the Director of Operations for Carrie Moore Interior Design in Durham, NC. Morgan is an active Fellow in the Triangle community and is a docent at the NC Museum of Art in Raleigh as well as a volunteer Transforming Leaders coach. Morgan is a 2019 Leadership Triangle Goodmon Fellow.

Something that is often said, but I think the pandemic has illuminated, is the importance of being able to “bring your whole self to work.” My cohort and coach helped me realize that it was not only acceptable but necessary for my continued growth to lean into my values in every facet of my life. Being a thoughtful, vulnerable, and compassionate employee, colleague and manager was not a weakness, it was power — and the kind of leader I wanted to be.

Owen Jordan: What is your story?

Morgan Weston: I am proud that my story begins and continues in North Carolina’s Triangle region. I was born in Orange County, grew up and attended public schools in Wake, and most recently lived in Durham County. Today, I share a little house in the woods in Chatham County with my husband, James and our dogs, Chico and Casper.

Growing up, I dreamed of working at a magazine or newspaper, telling stories through writing, photography, or both. Years later, armed with an English degree from UNC-Wilmington and the optimism of a 21-year-old, I quickly learned that the ubiquity of smartphones and the internet meant everything from news to socializing to advertising was going digital.

Thankfully, many of my skills — communications, editing, graphic design — were just as useful in a digital world. I have held incredible roles, from producing written and video content for software and media companies to leading digital marketing campaigns and project management efforts in the pharmaceutical and economic development spaces.

Today, I am proud to serve as director of operations for Carrie Moore Interior Design in Durham (who I met through Leadership Triangle).

Durham Bulls baseball game

Owen Jordan: What brought you to Leadership Triangle back in 2019?

Morgan Weston: The Research Triangle Foundation, a partner of Leadership Triangle and my employer at the time, supported my participation in the Transforming Leaders program. My team was growing, we were rolling out a huge rebranding effort, and it felt like a million other things were going on, but those were the very reasons it was the perfect time for me to take part in the program, and I’m so grateful I made the time for it.

Owen Jordan: How did you feel impacted by the program and coaching?

Morgan Weston: Something that is often said, but I think the pandemic has illuminated, is the importance of being able to “bring your whole self to work.” My cohort and coach helped me realize that it was not only acceptable but necessary for my continued growth to lean into my values in every facet of my life. Being a thoughtful, vulnerable, and compassionate employee, colleague and manager was not a weakness, it was power — and the kind of leader I wanted to be.

It was such a huge realization for me, and I remain so grateful for every person I met on that journey. Today, I remain in contact with many of my peers and even led a book club during the early stages of Covid to continue our learning journey together.

Teotihuacan pyramids in Mexico City

Owen Jordan: What does leadership look like in your current role?

Morgan Weston: I am part of a small but mighty team of some of the most creative people I’ve ever had the pleasure of working with. Every day is filled with new challenges to solve as we collaborate with local businesses and homeowners on unique projects, from a branded waiting room experience in a medical office to a thoughtful renovation of a historic home.

My responsibilities are many, but the core of my role is the client experience. I help guide them at each step, overseeing our efforts in marketing, project management, procurement, and installation.

Leadership looks like my team members’ ability to work together, hear one another, and be open to change. I have witnessed each of them teach and learn, grow and adapt. I can’t wait to see what we accomplish together.

Morgan is a docent at the NC Museum of Art in Raleigh. If you’d like to support her work, she would love for you to check out the museum. Here is a message for readers from her:

“The NC Museum of Art is an incredible, *free* resource whose recent reinstallation highlights the beauty of our diverse community and world, and we offer complimentary educational tours throughout the year for North Carolina students of all ages and abilities on topics designed to correspond to their curriculum.” — Morgan Weston

Learn more and discover the museum here.

--

--

Leadership Triangle

Leadership Triangle builds leadership capacity and promotes regionalism across the separate communities of the Triangle (Chatham, Durham, Orange, Wake County).